Why Can’t Staying Fit Be Easier?

I am a fairly healthy person, and I am thankful for that.  However, as I get older I notice that it is harder and harder for me to maintain my weight.  I’m noticing more and more cellulite showing up.  Ugh. 

My mother once told me that with each decade of your life, it is that much harder to lose weight.  She was right. I am 39 years old and if I do what I did 10 years ago to try and lose some weight, nothing happens now.  In fact, the weight is increasing faster.  Yikes.

I do love to run, but I find myself putting it off or just not doing it some days.  I can always find something else to do besides exercise.  Always.

It’s not only the exercise though.  It’s what I eat.  To a lot of people I probably would be considered a healthy eater.  However, I LOVE carbs.  In fact, if I could live off a diet of cereal, toast, bagels, chips, and pasta I would be set.  These foods do NOT help you lose weight, trust me.  I’ve tried the carb lovers diet and it’s not pretty.  Now, I don’t eat a lot of processed foods or unhealthy carbs, but I eat way too many of them.  I may eat Grape Nuts and whole wheat bread, but when that is your main source of food, there is a problem.

I know I need to eat more fruits and vegetables.  I sometimes only eat one or maybe two servings.  That’s sad and not good for me.  But when there is toast I would rather have that than fruit.  I have to consciously make the decision to eat fruit or it would never happen.  I do not crave it, unfortunately.

I figured the best way to create a goal and stick to it, is to put it in writing.  Not just in my journal for me to see though because I’ve tried that and I’m not good and keeping myself accountable.  I need external help there.   I decided I needed to put my goals on my blog so that I can always reference them and I know other people had read them.  I think (hope) this will encourage me to stick to the plan.  It’s worth a try, that’s for sure.

Here are my goals:

  1. Eat less carbs daily.  If I have cereal,  I will have some fruit with it instead of toast or more carbs.
  2. Eat 6-8 servings of fruit and veggies daily – That will leave less room for carbs and be much better for me.
  3. Work out 5 days a week – I can pick which 5, but it has to be 5 days.  No excuses.  20 minute minimum and it can be any type of exercise I want it to be.
  4. Drink more water – I mainly drink water, but I do not drink enough.  I need to work towards 8 glasses a day and not just with meals.
  5. Rest – sleep at least 7-8 hours a night, and keep Sunday as a day of rest and relaxation to prepare me for the week.
  6. Increase the amount of natural foods I eat- I will work in a lot more vegetables and fruit, but also more whole grains, beans, etc.

Those are my main goals, and it starts today.  I will check in and give you my progress each week.  If you are working on some of these same goals, please let me know.  We can do it together!

2 thoughts on “Why Can’t Staying Fit Be Easier?

  1. Hi Michelle,

    Congratulations on making the first step – setting real goals and putting them in writing.

    It sounds like you know the fundamental truths about better health, but have a problem implementing them. Therefore I suggest writing out a quick plan each morning before you start your day (or before you go to bed the night before). On the plan, set out your meals & snacks for the day, and your exercise for the day. Tick them off as you do them, and write a little note about how you feel, little failures, and little successes (so you can check back to see your improvement).

    Believe me, if you follow the right diet, your cravings for bad carbs will go – it does mean going complete cold-turkey for a couple of weeks. But it does work.

    I blog all my experiences, thoughts, ideas and exercise routines on my journey to health & fitness. I am currently doing a series of posts about nutrition (I recently lost approx 28 lbs in less than 4 months). The first one (about milk & dairy) is up: http://jonnygetsfit.wordpress.com/2009/10/27/nutrition-what-i-know-so-far-part-1-milk-dairy/

    Check it out if you like.

    The next post will be about fats (hope to get that one up over the weekend), and then probably insulin resistance after that (which covers bad carbs & sugar). There will be others also, maybe 5 or 6 in the series, total.

    Maybe you could pick up some pointers if you follow the series.

    God bless & stay fit,

    Jonny

    • Thank you Jonny for your encouragement! I will definintely check out your blog and thanks for the info. I do know I should be keeping a journal with what I eat and how I feel, thank you for the reminder. I will add that to my daily routine.

Leave a comment