He Chose The Nails by Max Lucado

Image

I just recently finished my Thomas Nelson complimentary copy of “He Chose the Nails” by Max Lucado.  (I am part of their blogger group called BookSneeze).  Anyway,  I love the way Max Lucado writes.  His books are so easy to read and they make me laugh and they make me think.  This one was no different.

It’s a wonderful book that tells the story of what Jesus did for me and for you and for everyone else.  He chose the nails.  He chose to die on a cross so that we could be forgiven and so that we could have a relationship with God.  A close and loving relationship with our creator.  

He dedicates this book to Jesus.  I love it.  In the front of the book where most authors dedicate the book to their wife, or their mother, or the children, Lucado has dedicated this book to “To Jesus Christ, Because you chose the nails”.  

The entire book is written to help you grasp and truly understand how much Jesus loves us. He tells some funny and entertaining personal stories along the way, but makes his points beautifully.  This would be a great book to read with your family right before Easter.  He even has a Study Guide in the back of the book.

This book is about redemption and understanding that no matter what you’ve done, Jesus died on the cross so that you are now forgiven (if you accept this gift and follow Him). It’s about using your mistakes, your tragedies and your struggles for good.  And it ends with a chapter titled “What Will You Leave at the Cross?”  

We are reminded that we can let go of past hurts, regrets and guilt and leave it all at the Cross where Jesus always intended us to leave it.  

I would highly suggest reading this wonderfully written book as a reminder of Jesus’ love for you.

 

Leave a comment