Powerful Question

This morning on Facebook one of my friends posted this question and it blew me away:

“What if you woke up today with only the things you thanked God for yesterday?”

Wow, that’s all I could think after I read it.  Wow.  Then I racked my brain to think about what I thanked God for the previous day.  I usually pray “thank you for everything that you give me”, but I couldn’t remember for sure if I prayed that and it’s really to vague anyway.  I know I thanked Him for the food I ate at mealtime prayers and I thanked Him for the women in my Bible Study before we met last night, but I think that was it .  I love those women and I need to eat, but I was crushed that I might not have thanked God for the most precious things in my life.  My husband and children.  Sometimes I just feel like God knows that I am grateful for them.  But this question really hit home.

I used to thank Him every night for Jesus dying on the cross, but somehow I stopped that.  That is the # 1 gift I am thankful for, how I could I stop thanking Him?  Everyday is a reminder that again, He has forgiven me when I don’t deserve it.

I need to be thanking God daily for all those things that I never ever want to take for granted.  My loved ones and all the blessings He has given me.  This question was so good to read this morning.  I will make sure I start thanking God daily for EVERYTHING I am grateful for.

I have a “Gratitude Journal” by my bedside, I need to go back to writing in it every night.  It’s such a great feeling to go to bed thankful for all that you have, instead of depressed about all you don’t have.  And if one day we did wake up with only those things we thanked God for the day before, you’ll be in good shape!

One thought on “Powerful Question

Leave a Reply

