Lukewarm

I take really hot showers.  I just like the water really hot. I notice my back is red sometimes when I get out of the shower because the water was so hot during my shower.   But that’s how I like it.  I think if you are going to take a shower, it should be HOT water.  It’s relaxing to me and it just feels right.  Lukewarm is irritating to me.  I hate how it feels.  I would rather just not take a shower then have the water be lukewarm.

This is how Jesus feels about some of us.  It’s irritating to him when we are lukewarm Christians. Which means we do a few things here and there that do obey God, but we aren’t ALL IN.  We are just lukewarm. We aren’t on FIRE with passion for Christ and wanting to live every single day with Him and for Him. 

Jesus actually says if we are lukewarm Christians, he wants to “spit us out of his mouth”.  Yikes.  That makes me cringe and it stirs some pretty strong convictions inside of me. 

A lot of times we cling to things that are not of God, that are not glorifying God in some way.  We cling to what is comfortable and safe and “feels good”.  That is when we are lukewarm about our faith. 

When we want God to fit into our lives, we are lukewarm. 

When we let God run our lives, and trust him completely with every single thing, we are All In.  When we are willing to get very uncomfortable on a constant basis ,then we are All In.    We are hot and that is where God wants us.  Not because He needs us, but because THAT is where we will find all the joy God has in store for us.  Having lukewarm faith will get you lukewarm results.

I need to turn up the heat and keep it there.

2 thoughts on “Lukewarm

  1. Michelle — have you read Crazy Love? If so, what’d you think? We are reading it with our small group right now, and last week was the chapter on being lukewarm. A little “too” convicting but great stuff.

    • Hey Stephanie! I have read that book, and I loved it! Actually last summer your mom brought it when she visited us and let me borrow it. I wrote a blog post about it because I loved it so much. I agree, it is very convicting. But personally, I needed to be convicted, in fact I continue to need to be convicted in that way. Everyday. I think it’s too easy for us to get “comfortable” and that is dangerous, you know? Let me know your thoughts when you are finished.

Leave a Reply

