Letting Go Of Anxiety

Why is it that I get so caught up in my day sometimes that I forget what I should be focused on?  I let little “emergencies” at work get me anxious and stressed and they are so small in the grand scheme of my life.  All I can do is my best, and worrying or getting anxious really helps nothing.

I need to memorize this verse and say it over and over to myself when I have those kind of days.  (Today was one of those days)

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”  Philippians 4:6 

It’s hard to always think this way and focus on following Jesus.  Remember the story of Jesus sleeping in the boat while the waves were crashing all around them?  I want to be like that.  He had nothing to worry about because He knew that all of this is temporary and NOT worth getting stressed over.

I think that is a great image to bring to mind when I feel anxious.  Jesus sleeping in the boat while things were a bit chaotic.  I don’t plan on falling asleep on the job, but I will ask the Holy Spirit to help me stay focused on what matters and not let these “little” things get to me.

2 thoughts on “Letting Go Of Anxiety

  1. Pingback: Saturday Digest~May 21 « Because Of Grace

Leave a Reply

