Diet Update

So I finished my 10 days yesterday and I have to say I did fairly good overall.  For 5 days straight I ate ONLY vegetables and fruit and drank water.  On the 6th day I did add some whole grain (sprouted) bread and some pasta.  I also then had some corn chips and vegan corn muffins (made with whole wheat flour, applesauce and agave nectar for sweetener) over the weekend, plus some wheat pizza with soy cheese.   However, other than that I still only had fruits and vegetables. 

I had no coffee, no sugar, no dairy,  no white flour, and no meat.  I feel great, but  I felt the best on the first 5 days when I was only eating fruits and vegetables. 

This morning I did have an egg, but I plan on keeping with the “mainly” veggie diet.  I juiced a lot of vegetables, including carrots which I love!  I just feel healthier and I’ve lost some weight and my clothes are feeling better.

I’m going to continue to focus on eating more vegetables and fruits, but I’ll include whole grains, nuts, and some alternative dairy products (soy, almond, etc.). 

I’m not going to be legalistic about it.  If I’m at someone’s house and they only make food that includes meat or dairy, I will eat it.  I’m not “that person”.  I will eat those other foods, but for the most part I want my diet to remain the same.  I will eat meat sometimes, and I will occassionally include fish. 

I want to eat the foods that God has provided to us more than I want to eat the foods that humans have processed for us.  I want to include more “whole” foods in my diet and eat how God intended us to eat.

“Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.”   1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Leave a Reply

