The Daniel Diet

Last fall I was doing my daily reading in the Bible and I decided just to flip to something new and read it.  Well, I landed on the book of Daniel.  These are the verses I read that day (and I’ve been reminded of them every since):

“But Daniel resolved not to defile himself with the king’s food and wine, and he asked the chief official for permission not to defile himself this way.”

“Please test your servants for ten days:  Give us nothing but vegetables to eat and water to drink.  Then compare our appearance with that of the young men who eat the king’s food, and treat your servants in accordance with what you see.”

“At the end of the ten days they looked healthier and better nourished than any of the young men who ate the royal food.” 

We have to believe God put this in the Bible for a reason, right?  I felt as if he was speaking to me that day,  presenting me with a challenge.  Or maybe He just wanted to have a good laugh because this topic was on my mind.  I had one of those moments when I’m reminded that God truly knows everything I think about.  As scary as that might be, it’s true.  He knew that I had been asking Him to help me to make healthier choices and to stick with them.  This, I assumed, was his answer. 

I like thinking that eating any other way is “defiling” my body…it sort of helps me make better choices.   It just sounds bad and I don’t want to be “defiling” anything.  Let alone, my body.  Now…here is the challenge, and it’s a doozy.  Daniel ate nothing, NOTHING but vegetables (and I’m going to assume fruit) and water.  That’s it.  Nothing else.

I looked this up on the internet and wow, I found all kinds of “Daniel’s diet” sites…with detox diets, etc.  I guess I’m not the first to pay attention to these verses.   Shoot.   Anyway, all of these sites have different “rules” etc.   I don’t think it’s too hard to figure out.  It says he ate vegetables and water.  That’s it.  It does not say he ate soy bacon with his almond milk latte.  It says, he ate NOTHING but vegetables and water.  Nothing.  It’s pretty clear.   AFter 10 days Daniel and his buddies were healthier than their cohorts who feasted at the king’s table.  Go figure.

My husband and I use that as a joke now…”the king’s table”.  When we talk about or see certain foods we refer to them as “king’s table” foods and we are trying to stay away from that table.  We’ve been a guest of the “king’s” one too many times I’m afraid.  It’s time we joined Daniel, or at least that I join Daniel.  Now, I realize that this seems a little ridiculous to some and just way too extreme for others.  But…remember, it’s in the Bible!  I feel like God wants me to at least try it and see how I feel.  So, mark this as the day that I decide to officially take the Daniel challenge, absurd or not.  I’m not going to do the altered versions I read about.  I’m going to do the following for the next 10 days.

1.  Eat nothing but fruit and vegetables.
2.  Drink water.

I’m a little scared.  I’ve told my husband I was going to do this a few times and on Jan. 1 I got really close.  For 7 days straight I eliminated dairy, meat, caffeine, and sugar.  In the past week I added back in caffeine and sugar.  In doing this I’ve noticed a decline in how my skin looks, and the way I feel and I’ve noticed a gain in my middle region.  I do actually have some food allergies as well and they do affect my body and how I feel.   So…I am ready to go 100%.  If my skin, my energy, and my body feel a lot better afterwards then it’s worth it. 

Why wouldn’t  I want to take care of this temple that God has given me.  I’m 40 now, it’s time I really start taking care of my body.  Really this time.  I promise God, I heard your challenge.  I’m ready to take it. 

“Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in you? If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy him. For God’s temple is holy, and you are that temple.”1 Corinthians 3:16-17

One thought on “The Daniel Diet

Leave a Reply

