Crazy Love

I recently read the book “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan.  My mother-in-law, Margaret, let me borrow it.  I loved it. I especially love the way Francis writes, it’s as if he is just talking directly to me.

If you have not read this book, I highly recommend it.  It is quite convicting and calls us to live the life God intends for us to live.  It’s about NOT being lukewarm Christians.  I personally do not want to be a lukewarm Christian, I want to be ALL in.  And I need God’s help with that.  I truly do.  It’s hard to give up everything for God, but I want to do that with all of my heart.  I want my entire life to be for Him and to show him glory every single day.

Here are a few quotes from the book.  As I said it’s quite convicting.  Francis doesn’t sugar coat much.

  • ” I think most American churchgoers are the soil that chokes the seed because of all the thorns.  Thorns are anything that distracts us from God.  When we want God and a bunch of other stuff, then that means we have thorns in our soil. A relationship with God simply cannot grow when money, sins, activities, favorite sports teams, addictions or commitments are piled on top of it.”
  • “Lukewarm people tend to choose what is popular over what is right when they are in conflict.  They desire to fit in both at church and outside church; they care more about what people think of their actions (like church attendance and giving) than what God thinks of their hearts and lives”
  • ” Lukewarm people do whatever  is necessary to keep themselves from feeling too guilty.  They want to do the bare minimum, to be “good enough” without it requiring too much of them.”
  • ” Lukewarm people probably drink and swear less than average, but beside that, they really aren’t very different from your typical unbeliever.  They equate their partially sanitized lives with holiness, but they couldn’t be more wrong”

Wow, right?  It’s convicting stuff, and I love it!  I do NOT want to be a lukewarm Christian and this book has called me to live exactly how God instructs me to live.  I must obey his teachings, not just the ones I like.  And I must always give Him glory in everything that I do. 

I will close with this last quote that really sums it all up:

  • ” As long as we are pursuing Christ, we are satisfied in Him.  It is when we stop actively loving Him that we find ourselves restless and gravitating towards other means of fulfillment.”
One thought on “Crazy Love

Leave a Reply

