Discipline

When we hear the word “discipline” I think we naturally think of disciplining our children or being disciplined as a child.  In much the same way, God disciplines his own children (Christ-followers).  Just like we discipline our kids because we love them and we want to teach them, God does the same thing.  He always has our best interest at heart.

When you ask him to work on your heart or to make your heart more like his, He will do just that.  Believe me.  I’ve been asking him for about a year to work inside me and through me, and He is doing it, whether I like it or not.

I used to think it was more like God just “allowed” challenging things to happen to me to teach me lessons.   However, I recently read these verses and it changed my mind a bit.  I think He may orchestrate situations to intentionally teach us, as opposed to just allowing things to happen.

And you have forgotten that word of encouragement that addresses you as sons:
“My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline,
and do not lose heart when he rebukes you,
because the Lord disciplines those he loves,
and he punishes everyone he accepts as a son.”  Hebrews 12:5-6

I like the line “do not make light of the Lord’s discipline”.  I know God was speaking to me.  I know He knows my heart and believes that I think He just allows things to happen, but in this verse I hear Him telling me that He in fact DOES discipline me when  needed (which is probably a lot) and that He does it in love.

I like knowing that He cares enough about me to discipline me.  So now when something happens that I don’t particularly like I’m going to think about what I need to learn and what God is trying to teach me.  He’s only setting my boundaries and I’m so thankful for that.  In the end, it’s only to make me a better servant for His Kingdom.

Leave a Reply

