Stress and Allergies

I read an article the other day about how stress can aggravate and worsen allergies.   I had no idea.  Basically stress breaks down your immune system and makes you more susceptible to many ailments, one of which is allergies.  I suffer from allergies pretty regularly now.  My allergies started out fairly minimal, but the last few years have been pretty bad.  Right now we are in the height of Cedar season here in Austin.  It’s bad and I live in a cedar forest, which does not help matters.  

I wouldn’t say I have high levels of stress on a regular basis, but I do think I maintain some level of stress.  When I feel as if I have a lot to do I tend to become subconsciously stressed.   I can get overwhelmed at times.  Yesterday I decided to do a little experiment on myself.  I tried to stay calmer.  I focused on the task at hand and did not run through  my entire to-do list all through the day.  I took deep breaths throughout the day to keep me calm and peaceful and I have to say, my allergies seemed a little better.  I have no idea if that had anything to do with it, but I found it interesting.

Click here to read the article.   If you have allergies take a look and see what you think, and maybe give it a try.   If nothing else it’s worth a try, and you’ll be less stressed as well!

Leave a Reply

