Memorizing Scripture

I have only been a Christian for about 5 years, so the Bible is still fairly new to me.  I’m currently in the midst of reading it front to back, but I’m not out of the Old Testament yet.  I’m in Ezekiel right now, but I’m moving along and our pastor is going to challenge us to read the entire New Testament from January to June 2010.    This fits perfectly with my plan, since I’m almost finished with the Old Testament.  I will have to get going so I can get through the rest by the end of December.  I love deadlines, they definitely motivate me.

In addition to reading the Bible from front to back, I have also been involved in a quite a few Bible studies.   Bible studies, of course, send you all through the Bible reading verses throughout the Old and New Testament.  About 4 years ago I started writing down my favorite verses in a little journal.  It has definitely come in handy.  On days I  need a good verse to give me hope, or send to a friend, or to give to my husband I flip through this journal.  I try to add to it every time I run across a verse that stands out.  However, I haven’t been adding them as frequently as I’ve been finding them lately. 

In addition to writing them down, I am now working towards memorizing these verses.  I’m in the middle of a Bible study right now that encourages us to memorize a Bible verse each week.  We then have to repeat it in front of the group before we begin our weekly study.  I’ve been doing good so far, in fact last week I memorized Ezekiel 36: 25-27.  It was one of the longest so far, but so worth it. 

The purpose of doing this is so that you can recall these verses at any time.  Whether you need them when helping others, or just for yourself.  Scripture is so powerful for fighting off negative and anxious thoughts.  If you can recall and recite scripture on a moments notice you will begin to see the positive effect this will have on you.  You should give it a try.  Maybe start with one a month, then move to one every two weeks and then to one weekly. 

This Christmas one of the presents I want to give  my family are little laminated cards with special verses that I know they can use throughout the year.  I will update these each year as situations change, but I hope they will find them helpful.  I will make them the size of a credit card and they can keep them in their wallets or in their backpacks, etc.  My hope is they will read them often, but more importantly have those verses memorized by the end of the year.

This week the verse I memorized was Psalm 139:23-24 which reads “Search me, O God, and know my heart.  Test me and know my anxious thoughts.  See if there is any offensive way in me and lead me in the way, everlasting.”   (I typed that from my memory I promise, I did not look it up so if it’s a word or two off you understand)  I will use this one a lot.  So often I get caught up in so many other things and forget to stop and ask God to help me with my anxious and negative thoughts.  I also want him to continually search my heart and help me get rid of anything that isn’t pleasing to Him.  These verses speak that to God and I intend on praying that to Him on regular (maybe even daily) basis.

How many verses do you have memorized and do you recall them on a daily basis?

One thought on “Memorizing Scripture

  1. Michelle, Great post! My Sunday School memory partner and I memorized the same Psalm 139 verses this week. We have been memorizing and reciting to each other the chapter this quarter. This week we’re starting on the Sermon on the Mount Matthew 5-7. We hope to complete Matt 5 this quarter. We like to do passages rather than a variety of verses. But, both are very helpful. Keep hiding God’s Word in your heart!

Leave a Reply

