A Gratitude Journal

Recently I read about a gratitude journal and it caught my interest.  What a great idea I thought.  I love journaling, so this should be easy.  I have a few extra journals, so I’m going to dedicate one as my “Journal of Thanks”.  I am going to fill it each day with all of the things I am thankful for.

We tend to focus and dwell on those things we are NOT thankful for, but what we should be doing is focusing on all of the blessings God has given us.  There are those that believe the more thankful you are, the more good things happen to you.

I just know that it will be great to think about and write down those things I am thankful for when I wake up.  I may also write in it when I go to bed, writing about all the things I am thankful for that happened during the day.   I just can’t help but think about how nice it will be to read back over what I’ve written.  When I’m having a blah day, or I’m just not in a great mood, reading this journal will surely change my mood.  

The article I read about this (in the Nov. 2009 issue of Natural Health magazine) stated that people who write down what they are thankful for are 25 percent happier, exercise 33 percent more a week and sleep 30 minutes longer each night, and have 10 percent lower blood pressure.  Wow, so being thankful is not only good for my mood and spirit, but good for my health!  I better get started.

P.S. Today I am thankful for allergy medicine.  We are in the prime season for my awful hay fever allergies, but thanks to my allergy medicine (being taken regularly) I am feeling very minimal symptoms.  Hallelujah.  Last year I can not say the same was true. 

Have a great day and thank about what you are thankful for today, and maybe even write it down.

3 thoughts on “A Gratitude Journal

  1. Pingback: Thankfulness « Michelle Traudt

  2. Pingback: Powerful Question « Michelle Traudt

Leave a Reply

