A Mission to Minimize

I truly am on a mission.  A mission to minimize our stuff.  And I’m having so much fun.  I really enjoy this.  I decided to have a garage sale this Friday and Saturday, so I’m busy clearing out anything we don’t use and I’m pricing it as I go.  It is going to feel so good to get this stuff out of our house.  I can’t wait. 

I know having a garage sale can be a lot of work, but if I can make a little money while also clearing out our stuff, then it’s a win win for me.  I usually take our things to Goodwill.  In fact, I’ve probably made 30 or more trips to Goodwill in the past two years.  But this time I decided we had a few things that would be good for a garage sale and now I’m finding things left and right. 

My husband is being such a trooper.  He’s letting me go through things that he told me over a year ago that he would not get rid of.  I’ve softened him I think.  Actually I think he just sees it differently now.  He sees it as stuff that is just up in a box and not being used.  When you really start to look at it, it’s silly to have things in boxes that have not come out of those boxes in over a year, or in 5 years or more.  We have less and less space in our houses, and the last thing we need to do is store more stuff we don’t use or love.  That’s my mantra these days.  If we don’t use it, or love it….we need to let it go!  (sorry if I keep repeating this, but I feel it’s important to remember)

It’s very freeing.  And yes, sometimes….VERY rarely….you may…..think about something you gave away and wish you hadn’t.  But in my experience (which includes many years of giving things away) I can only think of maybe 2-3 times that has happened, and I quickly got over it.  It was a fleeting thought, and definitely not worth the space I gained in my closet or cabinets.

Think about it….would a garage sale help you clean out your house?  Maybe get together with some neighbors and have a group one.  Or with some members of your church, etc.   Even get the kids involved.  I’m involving mine.  I’ve told them if they go through their things and put things in the garage sale, and help me price them, I will give them a little money from what is sold.  My daughter has cleared out a bunch of her stuff so far.  I’m so proud.

I’ll let you know how the sale goes this weekend.  But in the meantime,  I’m having  so much fun just going through everything and being really tough on myself about whether I should keep or sell each item.  Even for me, it’s hard sometimes.  I think…well I might need that for the holidays.  But I know we can make things work with less.  And that’s what I plan on doing.

Leave a Reply

