Thankful Thursdays

I follow Lisa Welchel on Twitter.   Yes, she was Blaire on “The Facts of Life” TV show.  She is now one of the speakers with Women of Faith.  Last week or the week before, she mentioned that she has Thankful Thursdays.  On Thursdays, she makes a point to express the things she is thankful for.  I think that is a great idea, so I’m starting today. 

I’m thankful for so many things in my life, but today I’m going to focus on a few blessings that stand out to me at the moment. 

First of all, I’m so thankful that I have a husband who I can talk to, confide in, laugh with, share with, and have fun with.  I know I can talk to him about anything.  Even if it seems silly to me, he always makes me feel as if it’s not.  I trust him completely and I feel 100% safe in our conversations and in our relationship.  That is something I never had in the past, and I thank God everyday for bringing him to me.  He only helps me to be a better me. 

I’m also actually thankful for Thursdays.  Thursday is the day that my husband and I have together.  I call it our “date day”.  Once we drop the kids off at school in the morning, we have a day to ourselves.  Both of our kids are with their other parent on Thursday nights.  So it is the one day we do not pick them up from school, etc.  Don’t get me wrong, we love our kids more than anything….but….we really enjoy and cherish the time we have together.  It’s just our day.  And I’m so thankful we have it.  As I type this, I’m here at my husband’s office with him.  I’m usually at home working, and he goes to his office.  On Thursdays, I come with him to work now….and it’s a great day.  We can discuss work related issues, or just anything that comes up during the day.  Then at night, we have our date night.  We sometimes just go to dinner.  Or we make dinner at home, and watch a movie.  Sometimes we go out on the Mobile Loaves and Fishes truck together or we go see a movie.  It’s important time for us to strengthen our relationship and become closer.  Everyone should have a date day or night.  I believe it’s part of a good marriage, and essential for a great marriage.

What are you thankful for today?

2 thoughts on “Thankful Thursdays

  1. I’m thankful for my Ladies Bible Study. We meet on Thursdays and this is my first time to get together with them since last Spring. I was gone for the summer study and I was gone last week when they started the fall study. This morning we had 10 gals around my dining room table as we continued Session One of Jerry Bridges’ book Respectable Sins–a powerful study about those sins that we evangelical Christians seem to ignore in our own life because we’re too busy lambasting the sins of the culture around us. We had some good honest discussion and prayer about an important issue in the church which some of the gals attend. I’m thankful these gals are comfortable raising this issue in my home and I pray they will be guided to the truth of God’s Word and His plan for them in this difficult time.

  2. Today I am thankful for my job. Not only do I actually enjoy it, I can make some extra money while still staying at home, which I absolutely love.

Leave a Reply

