Life Vision

I’ve read many times, in different books, about the importance of  having a vision for your life.  That, you can’t just wake up everyday and let the day carry you, you need to take hold of the day.  If you do not have a plan for your life, and or for each day, it will pass by so fast, and you won’t accomplish the things you want to accomplish. 

I know this to be a fact, because when I plan my days, I get so much more done.  When I plan out my week and month, I get the things done that I need to get done.  When I don’t……I am left at the end of the day thinking….what did I really accomplish today? 

I have another example of this idea at work.  One day I was looking at a Bible Study that I had completed about 4 years ago.  I was reading over it and one of the questions asked “what would I be doing with my life?  How would my life look in a perfect world, if there were not obstacles or anything to hold me back”?   I had written that I would be a counselor, or have an organizing business, that I would sing at church, lead an exercise class, have more time with Rainey, and meet a wonderful Christian man. 

Well…flash forward to today.  I have an organizing business, and I am now studying to become a counselor and will be starting in January.  I’ve sung in front of a large group of people…not church yet, but in front of a lot of people, which was really the main point of that goal.  I do get more time with Rainey now, I’m able to pick her up from the bus everyday and I’m VERY thankful for that.  And most importantly, I met the most wonderful, christian man about 2 years ago, and he is now my husband! 

So…these vision statements work.  You begin by focusing your thoughts on positive things daily…but to really get a clear view of where you want to go, it’s best to write it down.  That way you can read it daily, or refer to it often. 

I wrote another  life vision the other day, and it was fun.  I wrote it as if I were writing about my life in the present tense, but with my goals already accomplished.  For instance, I talked about how I was really taking care of my body and I felt great, and I was in shape!  I talked about my counseling, and how I had a really good amount of clients.  I talked about the Home Group my husband and I are about to begin…I said it was thriving and growing.   You get the idea.  Just look at the areas of your life you are working on, and then write about each one as if it’s already exactly where you hope it will be. 

I just turned 39 yesterday, so I wrote it as if I was writing it on my 40th birthday.  Now I have goals for where I want to be in one year.  I have a plan, and I know where I’m going.  It helps me to plan my time now, so that I reach those goals. 

I heard someone use the analogy the other day, that you wouldn’t invite a friend to walk with you until you knew where you were going.  Why not use the same logic for our lives?  If we don’t know where we are going…then we’ll get…nowhere. 

Start today, and envision your life the way you want it to be, and focus on that every single day.  You WILL get there!

One thought on “Life Vision

  1. Michelle, I love this new blog. You are so adept at putting your thoughts into words. I always enjoy reading what you’re thinking about and you challenge me to do the same. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

