Getting Rid of Clutter

As a Professional Organizer I help people get rid of clutter.    And I love going through my own house and getting rid of things we no longer use.  I think my husband is a little nervous that he may come home one day and I will have given away or sold everything but our bed. 

I just do not see any need to keep things that we do not use, love, or reference.  Clearing our lives of clutter, and stuff we don’t use, is so important! 

If we have a lot of “stuff”, then its easier for us to focus on the stuff and give it more importance than it deserves.  Jesus teaches us this about our money and our stuff….”Wherever your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  Matthew 6:21.  That is so true.  If we get more and more “stuff”, then we just want more, don’t we?  Would it ever be enough?  I don’t think so.  I don’t know many people who have acquired a lot of “things” that would say…”I’ve got enough now, I’m done buying anything new”. 

No, the fascination with “stuff” is that you only want more and more stuff.  It can take over.  And believe me when I say….it really can take over!  I’ve seen it.  I’ve seen people with so much stuff they don’t know what to do with it.  It has taken over their homes and their lives.  It’s sad.  They’ve allowed the stuff to take over their focus.  And now they are overwhelmed because they have too much of it and don’t know what to do with it.  Also, when you have  a lot of stuff, you spend a LOT of time working around it, moving it, cleaning it, rearranging it, putting it back, and digging through it looking for something else.  It’s a lot of work.

Now think for a moment about that.  If they’ve put their treasure into all their “stuff”, and it has become overwhelming….then their heart is overwhelmed too.  There is not a sense of peace within their hearts.  If on the other hand, they put all of their energy into God, do you think they would still feel overwhelmed?  Do you think we can somehow get too much of God?  No way.  That could never happened….more of God only brings more peace and joy.  Wow, sign me up!

Take a look around at all your “stuff” and really think about what it adds to your life.  Slowly start giving things away, and see how you feel.   I’m addicted to cleaning out.   My goal is to live simply.  To live with only those things I use, love or reference regularly.  That’s it.  Then I am free to spend more time focused on what really matters…God, my husband, my kids, and the interests God has given me.

One thought on “Getting Rid of Clutter

  1. This is where I am now…decluttering like crazy…it is so freeing! I’m liking all the space…still a ways to go but getting there. Just found your blog and LOVE it…very insightful, inspirational and REAL. Have a beautiful day! Blessings, Heather

Leave a Reply

